Skip to main content

Memphis Soaring History

The Memphis Soaring Society (MSS) is one of the oldest continuously active soaring clubs in the nation. It was founded in 1947 by the late Eugart Yerian, a pilot, instructor and all-around soaring enthusiast who has been inducted into the Soaring Hall of Fame.

Memphis Soaring has been located at several airfields in Tennessee, Mississippi and Arkansas including:

1947-1952 Early efforts to develop club (AR and MS)
1952-1955 Memphis Flying Service (TN)
1955-1959 Twinkle Town Airport, Walls (MS)
1959-1966 Wilson Field, Memphis (TN
1966-1976 Finley Field, Marion (AR)
1976-1992 Colonial Airport, Olive Branch (MS)
1992-2002 Forrest City Municipal Airport (AR)
2002-2003 Cartiller Airfield, Cherry Valley (AR)
       Current & Final Lawrence Field, Cherry Valley (AR)